Best viewed in Firefox

Awesty Productions

Spam Take Two

February 1st, 2007 by awesty

Okay, i have tried once again to stop the spam problem after getting 350+ spam messages just today. I am fairly confident that this will work, since within the few hours the two plugins have been installed they have already stopped 47 sites/bots and around 10 spam comments from being posted.

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • blinkbits
  • BlinkList
  • blogmarks
  • del.icio.us
  • digg
  • Furl
  • MyShare
  • NewsVine
  • Netscape
  • Reddit
  • Simpy
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • YahooMyWeb

RSS feed | Trackback URI

12 Comments »

Comment by big al
2007-02-02 05:02:41

way to go!!! i dont spam do i?

 
Comment by Bob
2007-02-02 07:22:35

Man, why are so many spam bots comming here??

 
Comment by awesty
2007-02-02 15:12:11

@big al: By spam, I meant all those posts with links to… ‘weird’ sites.

@bob: I am getting a fair amount of traffic, and they found a loop in the system so took advantage of it.

 
Comment by big al
2007-02-03 05:11:05

ya ok, i mistake spam for this saying something repetitively…

 
Comment by eb264
2007-02-03 08:12:18

spamming just p***** everyone off, thats why they do it. its all over forums, and you always get 100’s of spam emails if they get your address somehow, hopefully the plug-ins will work

 
Comment by awesty
2007-02-03 10:55:38

@big al: That is spam, but a different kind.

@eb264: I think it is working, see down the bottom:

Bad Behavior has blocked 293 access attempts in the last 7 days.

 
Comment by eb264
2007-02-05 02:27:13

now 399

 
Comment by awesty
2007-02-06 15:54:40

Now 572 >_<;

 
Comment by Videoking
2007-02-09 11:59:50

What is being blocked????? Do you have to delete them manualy????? THIS WEBSITE IS NOT SPAM I PROMISS……

This is random but.. i want your opinion.. is my flash site good????? I’m still working on it though… www.freewebs.com/videoking000

 
Comment by Videoking
2007-02-09 12:03:25

http://www.awestyproductions.c...../#comments that page has some spam…. I gusse you could call it that!

 
Comment by awesty
2007-02-09 16:30:44

Its not blocking your site. Its blocking bots etc that arent wanted.

 
Comment by Problem
2007-03-20 11:57:42

Videoking, your ‘flash site’ doesn’t even seem to really work. 2 of the links are broken, and I don’t really even see any flash on it at all.

 
Name (required)
E-mail (required - never shown publicly)
URI
Subscribe to comments via email
Your Comment (smaller size | larger size)
You may use <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong> in your comment.